We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Down Below


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $8 USD  or more


Dark Passage 06:11
Deadlight 05:00
Down Below 04:44
Draume 03:31
Fathom 06:01


Born from an idea by guitarist -viNd- during a hiatus in his other bands Manes and Atrox. He recruited a group of comrades that he knew had the live- and studio-experience he needed to get this group off its feet, and thus Drontheim was established.

Drontheim plays music on the edge between post-rock and alternative metal, infused with large amounts of atmospheric and cinematic passages. Sometimes distorted and strict, and other times dark and emotional. The members of Drontheim is or has been involved with bands like Manes, Atrox, Khonsu, Bloodthorn and more.

Thematically Drontheim is rooted in an alternative reality regarding World War II, and the many “what if’s” in relation to the outcome of the war. The band is strictly non-political with no collective agenda on any level except the artistic, but the inspiration grew from a strong interest in WWII in general, and more specifically the German vision for Neu Drontheim - New Trondheim - as the new capital for the Germanized Scandinavia.

“Down Below” is their debut album, but they have released a handful of digital singles and music videos earlier. They have been an active live band, and have a tour lined up for early 2019 in support of the album.


released February 22, 2019

Drontheim is:

-viNd- : guitars, computers, synth, lyrics
Snorre Hovdal : bass, backing vocals, lyrics, synth
Rune Folgerø : vocals, lyrics
Tom Christian Engelsøy: vocals, lyrics
Geir Knarbakk : drums
Torstein Parelius : lyrics, guitars

All music and lyrics by Drontheim
"Deadlight" featuring contributions by Rune Sørgård
"Draume" & "Fathom" featuring contributions by M. Wägar and ATYD
"Fathom" featuring Rune Hoemsnes
"Ship of Fools" and "Tre Lovløse Dager" featuring contributions by Tony Jacobsen

Recorded, produced and mixed by Rune Sørgård, Stian Kjelstad Granmo and Drontheim at Spiren Studio and Vindmill Studio
Mastered by Knut Vegar Prytz at Prytz Studio

Artwork, cover design and photos by Snorre Hovdal


all rights reserved



Wraith Productions

Visionary independent record label featuring an eclectic collective of artists from around the world.

contact / help

Contact Wraith Productions

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Down Below, you may also like: